bleached hair · blogger · colorhair · cowash · edgecontrol · Growth · Healthy hair · Healthy Hair · Highpuff · nappyhair · Natural Hair · quick fix · summer look · Twist

Summer 16″

Ok, Queens well officially begin Summer, and I know you ladies are looking for ways to maintain your coils, kinks, and curls. Looking for protective styles, just plain ole ways to take better care of our crown of curls.

Let’s get started. Here in Baltimore, Maryland the weather is starting to heat up and at night, it becomes sticky and Let’s face it ladies “These curls ain’t loyal”!! Here are a few *Tips* to use to help your hair from becoming fluffy.

IMG_0199
Picture courtesy of Google Images

 

Add Eco Styler Gel/ or any clear gel with a hair cream or butter to help with the hold when styling Twist-outs, braid-outs, rods, etc. Hair creams or butters will moisturize your hair, and when the moisture in your hair meets the muggy, humid air, it may become a *BIG* Bush. Not saying I don’t like the Big Bush because you guys know I do. However, if that’s not the look you are going for you may want to add a gel.

IMG_0200
It’s best to mix the two products together on your hand first before apply on your hair. If the two products create a white residue on your hand, it will do the same in your hair.

 

courtesy of google images

 

Heat Protectant Serum, spray, or cream. Yes, that’s right. I love the Cream of Nature and Tresemme’ Heat protection and Serum. I know you would normally add to your hair when using heated styling tools, however, these products can help to control fly-aways as well as to hold a good curl pattern for wash and go’s and twist-outs. Plus, it’s perfect for protecting your hair from chlorine in the pool or salt water at the beach. I love big hair (Defined curls), and Heat Protectant helps to keep your hair softer, shinier and helps your hair from frizzing and drying out on those hot summer days.

This is my favorite say it with me now! ***EDGE CONTROL*** Nothing screams summer is here more than melting edge control or edge control that only got your back for the first 5 to 10 mins of life. Quite frankly It’s disrespectful to put all that work and money in a good ( slick down ) just for the edge control to abort the mission. I know ladies it’s hard to find a good edge control that’s not flaky, sticky, leaves the white residue, or just don’t well control the edges. Well, these are a few I love. Yes, I tried each item and loved them all.  These edge controls give me the best slick down of all the slick downs.IMG_0212

The next thing is my Second favorite.  When your hair just refuses to be your friend I mean refuse to give you any act right. Well, it’s time to try an Updo, Flat twist, crown braids, etc. These kind of styles are convenient, easy to do and just plain cute to style.

IMG_0081
Picture from Pinterest Flat twist w/2 strand twist
IMG_0079
Crown Braid  (Picture from Pinterest)

 

 

IMG_0195
Two strand twist(photo from Pinterest)
IMG_0197
Single two strand Twist (Picture from Pinterest)

 

Or you may want or miss your curls. You can always unravel your locks (twists and braids) and let’em flow. And Did I mention you can’t go wrong with a High Puff, Rods and crochet braids? These styles seem to be the trendiest styles for summer 2016. IMG_2858

IMG_9093
This is a picture of my beautiful 14 y/o babygirl. (rocking crochet braids)

 

 

 

IMG_3492
Red hair don’t care. I just love rods during the summer months. They will start off tightly curled and loosen up by the end of the week.

 

Well, Queens, that’s all for now. If you would like to see any other summer style to help maintain your natural hair. Please feel free to let me know by emailing me ourkinksrcurls@gmail.com or contacting me on my social media pages.

Happy Summer 2016 Queens

Be kind to yourself, Remember to NEVER give up on your hair.

Love Peace and Hair cream.

Blogged By: Tanya

IMG_9929
courtesy of google images 

 

Leave a comment